Finding Your Strength Zone

It’s been so long since I last wrote a blog that I actually forgot the password to this site (it’s “Frodo” in case you’re wondering). I’ve experienced so many great things within my profession recently, and every time I think about writing a post, something else comes up. However, this week, a theme has been resonating in so many conversations I’ve had and articles I’ve read, I had to write about it. The theme is “finding your strength zone”. In the “Maxwell Daily Reader”, John Maxwell discusses this very thing. He uses an example of a basketball team where all of the first string players are switched to positions they don’t normally play and are forced to face the second string players. The first string gets pummeled. The idea here is that although you might be an amazing Center, you’re probably a lousy Point Guard. Imagine Bill Laimbeer playing Isiah Thomas’s position. Not very successful.

So this is what I’ve been thinking about over the past several days: playing to one’s strengths. We all have them, but do we get to utilize these strengths as often as possible? What can we be doing to make sure that they’re present more often? Maybe it’s implementing a new project within your building where you’d be able to offer others assistance. It could be trying out a new teaching method in the classroom.

Whatever your strengths are, how can you use them more in your daily routine?

Lots of questions, I know! I’d love to hear your comments.

Leave a Reply

